Notes on the Not-So-Scenic Route

It’s not a secret that I prefer to take the longer, more scenic route to any place.  I can take six hours to drive somewhere that’s two hours away, just to see everything there is to see.  I am a full believer that it’s not just about the destination, but the journey as well.  Chances are, if I have the time, I’ll take the time.  It’s just the way I roll.  So when I drove back to Reno after spring break and had to go up through the Central Valley due to weather, I wasn’t exactly happy about it.  That area of California is not exactly my favorite part (okay, I hate it, sorry if you’re from Fresno or Bakersfield).  Needless to say, I was not excited about driving for six or so hours through smoggy farmland.

My mind works in mysterious ways, however.  The simple change in scenery, even going from scenic to not-so-scenic, was enough to stimulate my travel-brain.  I thought my many-hour drive would be tedious and boring, and while I would say it was definitely uneventful, it would see that the different orientation of McDonalds and gas stations was enough to switch my brain to travel-mode.  It wasn’t particularly fun looking at the farmland, nor did I find anything extremely interesting about it.  Just the mere unfamiliarity of the area gave me a little travel buzz.  I learned a little bit about myself that day; that it doesn’t matter where I go, as long as I can see it in a new way, I can find the enjoyment in it.

Posted on April 23, 2011, in California. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We so enjoy your awkward tourist rants. Bakersfield, meh! I’m with you on that one.

Leave a Reply

