Finals on the Sea

All right, I’m going to ‘fess up: I’m a little behind on my blog. I don’t know if anyone has noticed, but in real time, it’s been a while since I was in South Africa. I’m sorry to be so behind, but I just want to put it out there that I’m trying to make my blogs as good and as detailed as possible, and that’s not always easy when you’re going from port to port every two days and you have finals coming up, as well as packing and saying goodbye to your friends.

I have four more days left on the ship, but I will continue to blog about my ports after I get home. I want to share with everyone exactly what happened during my time in port, and I realize that while trying to do this, I’ve neglected to write about ship life. I wouldn’t ever say that ship life was particularly exciting. Sure, living on a ship is pretty cool when you can go lie on a lounge chair in the sun and do your homework, while the sea breeze cools your hot skin. I love doing that when it’s sunny. Otherwise, life on the MV Explorer can get monotonous. We eat their crappy food when they tell us to (I’m never eating pasta and/or potatoes again), we have no internet except e-mail, no TV except for the looped movies on four channels, and we have no way of getting away from anyone that annoys us. Because of those things, though, we have all developed strong relationships with each other, because there’s not much else to do but hang out.

These last days after Hawaii have been filled with studying and packing, as I guess the last days of any semester are. My classes haven’t been too challenging, so I haven’t needed all the time I have to study. I’ve been putting off packing because I’m dreading making a customs list, just because it’s annoying. I am going to miss this old ship, though. As much as I’m ready for home and to move forward, I know that after the novelty of being home wears off, I’m going to be longing for the Piano Bar and Dean’s Memos and for my friends to be just down the hall. It’s really a bittersweet feeling, to have traveled the world and now have to stop and start my normal routine once more. I know that this has been the greatest adventure I’ve ever had, but I know that the Big Adventure is just beginning.

Posted on April 28, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Slacker!!

    What’s Dean’s memos?

Leave a Reply

