On the Road Again: South Africa, Day 5

Usually I don’t like to miss out on things, but there was supposed to be a nature walk this morning at 5:45, and I just didn’t have the energy to wake up for it, so Perri, Alyssa and I slept in a little bit. When everyone got back, they said that they had talked mostly about plants. Don’t get me wrong, I love learning, but I was tired and there was virtually no chance of seeing any cool animals out on the walk. We ate breakfast and packed up our stuff, and climbed aboard the bus yet again.

We drove for a while, and made a stop at Blyde River Canyon, the second largest canyon on Earth and considered to be one of the wonders of Africa. It was a wonderful place to stop and take a breather, and wonder for a second about just what we were doing there on a different continent than our homes. We took lots of photos of the three of us with the canyon as our backdrop, and we continued on our way. We traveled all day, taking the same route we had taken on our way to the park. If I could do it all over again, I would fly into the airport that is right outside of Kruger. Spending almost an entire two days traveling when you only have six in the country is totally not worth it. I am definitely glad I had the opportunity to safari in South Africa, though.

When we got back to the ship, we were exhausted. We had planned to meet Sean and Will out somewhere on the town, but we had no idea where they were or how to get ahold of them, so we decided to stay in. Will came by my room when he got back to the ship and told me that he had left us a note on the big pad of paper in Tymitz Square (the sort of lobby of the ship), where everyone leaves little tips and tricks they’ve learned in the current port. Oh well, maybe next time.

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

