Talkeetna, Alaska: Secret Foodie Paradise (Part 2)

More Talkeetna restaurant reviews

Mountain High Pizza Pie $

Just because you’re in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness doesn’t mean you should have to sacrifice a good slice of pizza.  The prices are good and the slices are large, and you can get a crazy Alaskan creation or just top your slice with what you want.  The crust is thin but I wouldn’t dare compare it to the delectable New York crust that is just as thin but in another league entirely.  The fried lasagna bites are my favorite appetizer because they put a twist on a classic dish and allowed me to add even more Italian food to my meal without totally filling me up (although it will never be as good as Grandma’s).  I enjoyed their outdoor seating when Alaska was going through a record-breaking heatwave, which allowed me to eat pizza and get sunburnt all at once.  You pretty much have to go to Mountain High if you’re craving a slice, but I recommend it anyway for its generous portions and decent crusts.

Roadhouse $

True to its name, the Roadhouse offers tiny accommodations, family-style food and a damn good bakery for the travelers passing through.  My first time in Talkeetna, I stopped by the Roadhouse and bought a cup of coffee and a slice of apple pie and I was in comfort food heaven.  I often stopped by the bakery with friends after a meal from somewhere else and bought assorted cookies as a treat, although I never found that apple pie again.  I only ate a real meal at the Roadhouse once, pulled-pork sliders, and they were decent (I guess I really like pulled pork).  I hear the real meal to enjoy at the Roadhouse is breakfast, although I could never bring myself to stay overnight in Talkeetna in order to try it, but it comes highly recommended from others I’ve talked to.  I can only recommend the bakery with full confidence, and will always remember my slice of pie eaten at a worn picnic table, when I had time to myself to ponder the entire Alaskan summer I had ahead of me.

Payo’s Thai Kitchen $$

I was surprised to learn that tiny Talkeetna hosted a Thai eatery, but I was glad for it when I was craving something a little more exotic than the normal Alaskan fare.  Set away from the main street, it might be a place you miss unless you’re specifically looking for it.  It’s outside-seating only, and the food is made in a small silver trailer.  The place is run by a tiny, older Thai lady and a 30-something redneck dude, and I have no idea what their relationship was or how they ended up their selling Thai food from a trailer.  One can only guess.  I ordered “pot Thai” (misspelled Pad Thai) and spring rolls, and everything was served on paper plates.  The food was good, the only gripe I had was the price.  Including a drink, that particular meal ran me about $20, a travesty considering the atmosphere and the fact that I know how much that food would cost in Thailand.  I recommend indulging exotic food cravings here, but I wouldn’t make it a regular thing unless you’re willing to overlook the exorbitant prices.

Honorable Mentions:

The spinach bread trailer

A super-shiny silver Airstream is pretty hard to miss on the main street, and about $6 will get you a large piece of greasy, cheesy spinach bread.  It was very indulgent and the resulting garlic-breath probably offended my closest friends, but it was worth it to taste what I can only describe as a sort of deep dish spinach pizza, minus the pizza sauce.  My inner cheese addict was thrilled whenever I stopped by.

Shirley’s Burger Barn

The only thing I ever bought from this tiny little food window was the fireweed ice cream.  Although not traditionally a fan of ice cream, I had to try that particular flavor because I knew I could probably not get it anywhere other than Alaska, not even at any other place than this tiny shack.  The flavor was light and sweet and it helped me cool down on one of the aforementioned record heat days spent wandering around Talkeetna.

Posted on October 23, 2013, in Alaska, Food. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

