Awkward Flight Attendant-in-Training

I’ve gotten a lot of questions lately about my upcoming flight attendant training so I thought I’d post a quick update about all that will be going down within the next few days.

On January 26 (my 27th birthday) I will be flying to Dallas, Texas to start my flight attendant training.  I’ve heard that airlines aren’t too keen on their employees posting a lot about them on social networks and blogs and whatnot, so if you don’t already know what airline it is you’ll just have to know that it’s a major U.S. airline.  My training is 8 weeks long and if all goes well, I should be graduating on March 26.

The future office view

The future office view

During those 8 weeks I’ll be learning everything from the service aspect of flying, to CPR to water ditching to inflating those giant yellow slides to karate for kicking some terrorist ass (hopefully I’ll never have to do any of that).  If you think about it, we’re 30,000 feet in the air and I will be a doctor, cop, server, mediator, and everything in between!  I will have a whole new skill set when I’m done.

I should find out my base within the last couple weeks of training, which could be one of a handful of cities my airline is based out of.  It’s kind of like Russian roulette for a living situation, but it keeps things interesting.  At least it won’t be the dead of winter!  Many of the questions I’ve gotten about schedules, flying benefits, where I’ll live, layovers, etc. I hardly know the answers to myself, so I’ll just have to keep everyone updated.  When I know something, you’ll know something.  Feel free to ask questions in the comments section and I’ll try my best to answer them!

Welcome Aboard!

Posted on January 23, 2014, in flight attendant and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I start my training in Atlanta this March! Cannot wait! Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

