An Evening on Oahu

For my one-monthiversary of becoming a flight attendant, I decided to go to Hawaii. OK, I actually figured out how to get a work trip there, DSCN9753but that’s still pretty cool because it’s considered an international destination (it’s more than a certain number of miles over water) and no one in my class had really done a cool trip like that yet. I was pretty excited as I boarded the plane and my crew told me a little about the hotel (Ala Moana) and that it was within walking distance of Waikiki Beach, and I began to plan out my 24-hour stay.

I called up one of my friends from Semester at Sea who lives in Honolulu, and to my delighted surprise she offered to drive me around wherever I wanted to go. I decide that I wanted to go to Pearl Harbor, and after a long flight we drove there and I spotted the USS Arizona memorial across the water. Unfortunately, the last boat had gone for the day and we were left with just the USS Bowfin submarine museum and the visitor’s center, but that was fine by me. The weather was humid and it sprinkled rain on me as I paid my respects to the men lost in naval battles around the world.

All that history had made me hungry, so I asked my friend to take me to a place where locals would go. She took me to a little place called Yama’s Fish Market, where I bought tried ahi poke, with its strong soy sauce flavor, and indulged in some yummy kalua pig. If you’re ever in Hawaii, you must try kalua pig! It’s delicious and completely heart-healthy (not). Instead of going to trendy Waikiki to eat, my friend took me to the other side of Diamond Head to a very small beach called Cromwell’s, near Queen’s Bath, a place I never would have discovered without her. We sat in the golden sand and ate with our plastic forks as the sun turned the sky pink, and a curious hDSCN9749onu (sea turtle) poked its head above the waves to say hello. And I was getting paid for it all.

Posted on May 27, 2014, in Day Trip, flight attendant. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

